Top Utility Nav


Twelve Candidates Seek Seats on STLCC Board of Trustees

STLCC-LogoTwelve candidates will vie for two seats on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in the April 4 election.

Nine candidates will be on the ballot for the Subdistrict 1 seat, including incumbent Derek Novel. The other candidates are Candace Gardner, Marsha Bonds, Kevin Martin, Marcus D. Adams, O. Daniel Gray, Veronica Avery-Moody, Theodis Brown and Miranda Avant-Elliott.

Three candidates have filed for the Subdistrict 2 seat. Incumbent Hattie R. Jackson will not seek re-election. The candidates are Pam Ross, Patrick J. Burke and Ciera Lenette Simril.

The winner of the Subdistrict 1 seat will serve a three-year term while the winner of the Subdistrict 2 seat will serve a six-year term.

Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

Subdistrict 2’s approximate boundaries extend from the northern limits of St. Louis City south along the city limit to Oakland Avenue; southeast from Kingshighway along Park, 39th, Jefferson and Osage to Interstate 55 and Gasconade; east on Gasconade to the Mississippi River; and north along the river back to its starting point.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees.  Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms.

The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities.

Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.