Top Utility Nav


Johnson Appointed to AACC Special Commission

Larry Johnson Jr., provost at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, has been appointed to the Commission on College Readiness of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

Johnson’s term expires June 30, 2018.

“Appointment to an AACC Commission is a tremendous honor and great opportunity for community college leaders,” Johnson said. “Because of my passion for serving first-generation and underrepresented students, the Commission on College Readiness will afford me the opportunity to engage leaders in discussions around ‘high impact practices’ that could help advance the mission and strategic priorities at St. Louis Community College.”

Johnson joined STLCC in June 2016. His duties include serving as chief executive and administrative officer over the Forest Park campus and William J. Harrison Education Center.

“We are sure that your insights and leadership will significantly contribute to the board’s decision-making process and its ability to serve the interests of the AACC member institutions.” said Walter Bumphus, AACC’s president and CEO, in a letter to Johnson.

AACC has six standing advisory commissions and three special commissions. Each group consists of about two dozen people from member institutions who are CEOs or campus leaders, plus additional people from organizations that work in areas relevant to each commission’s specific charge. Each commission meets twice a year.

Commissions were established to provide advice to AACC board and staff, encourage collaboration among community colleges and increase involvement in the AACC. Others special commissions include Structured Pathways and Leadership and Professional Development.

Founded in 1920, AACC has become the leading proponent and the national “voice for community colleges.” AACC represents and advocates for nearly 1,200 associate-degree granting institutions enrolling more than 13 million students—almost half of all U.S. undergraduates.

AACC supports and promotes its member colleges through policy initiatives, innovative programs, research and information and strategic outreach to business and industry and the national news media.