Top Utility Nav


Filing Opens Dec. 12 for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

Filing for the Subdistrict 1 seat on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees opens at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 12.

The Subdistrict 1 seat is currently held by Doris Graham, Ph.D., who was elected to the seat in 2012.

Filing for the seat closes at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 16, 2018. An election will take place April 3, 2018, to fill the seat. The winner will serve a six-year term.

St. Louis Community College is governed by six elected trustees who represent the four subdistricts of the college service area and one trustee whose appointment must be approved by the Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education.

Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

Individuals seeking the trustee seat must be at least 21 years of age and must be a resident voter of Subdistrict 1 for at least one year before the April 3 election. Each declaration of candidacy must be notarized before it is returned to the office of the associate for board relations at the Joseph P. Cosand Community College Center, 300 S. Broadway. Declarations of candidacy and a description of the subdistrict are available in the office of the associate for board relations at the Cosand Center. The office is open 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday; however, it will be closed from Dec. 22 through Jan. 2, 2018.

The placement of each candidate’s name on the ballot will be determined according to the order of filing by candidates, except that a lottery system will be used to place candidates’ names on the ballot for those individuals who file prior to 5 p.m. on Dec. 12. All candidates will be notified about the lottery and all other requirements for filing for office at the time they receive filing forms.

For more information, contact Rebecca Garrison, associate for board relations, at 314-539-5154.